EU makes feathered friends

Eivind Burkow at the Coastal House tells us how the the European Union (EU) attempts to reduce the accidental catching of birds during sea fishing. I so hope this will be a success. As you know I like to buy and eat fish, but I don’t want to be causing bird deaths along the way.

[Edit] My fellow blogger petrel41 tells us more about European seabirds as fishing bycatch.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in ecology, fish and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to EU makes feathered friends

  1. Hi, I know Kitty already awarded you with Blog Of The Year 2012, but have a second star from my awarding you again!

  2. jouault says:

    The major problem in the UK is gillnets an issue that people appear reluctant to address, all well and good the EU talking about this ongoing problem, but it does actually require actions. One problem is the number of birds have been decimated by this practice already and are no longer there to protect. Why not adopt a precautionary principle and only allow sustainable and acceptable methods in sensitive areas? A very simple solution, marine protected areas is the way forward but again a lot of talk and very little action.

Leave a Reply

