Science blogs that I recommend

A few people have nominated me for the Blog of the Year Award and for other WP awards. Thank you :-) But I’m not going to comply with each of these awards’ rules, especially the rules requiring me to change the appearance of Science on the Land by adding more pictures. So I’ve probably disqualified myself!

The part I do like is the part about recommending good blogs. Here are some that I recommend. If I’m still part of Blog of the Year, these are the blogs I nominate for that award. In this list I focus on the science blogs, so if you don’t see yours, please don’t take it personally.

[Edit] My list of science blogs now has its own page ‘Blogs to Watch’. There’s a link to it on my front page.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in knowledge transfer and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

60 Responses to Science blogs that I recommend

  1. Why thank you Argylesock! I will definitely be paying some visits to the others on your list. :)

  2. Argylesock, I am so touched! Thank you very, very much! Same as thinkingcowgirl, I’ll check out these fellow bloggers too! (:-)

    • argylesock says:

      I’m surprised by your response in fact: you’re a more senior scientist than I am.

      • I may be older (Bald, you know…), but senior is a relative term… (;-). Thanks again!

        • argylesock says:

          In fact I meant ‘senior’ as in ‘higher up the academic hierarchy’. I did my PhD relatively late (was in my 40s when I completed it) and I’m unlikely to gain a post-doc job because I’m limited by multiple sclerosis. But one of the Profs I know suggested that I write a science blog, so here I am :-) I find that writing popular science (aka popsci) is easy and fun, and it brings me into e-meeting people such as you who I wouldn’t have met otherwise.

      • Ah, but I am a “non-traditional” student as well! (:-)… I worked for several years after university before getting the opportunity to get into a PhD program. I got my degree at 40; the same year I got hired at my university. I got the popsci writing bug recently, but I am working ia project that may interest you… i will tell you soon. (:-)

        Again, thanks for the honor!

  3. krikitarts says:

    I am honored and very grateful to be included among such esteemed company. How very kind of you! I’ve been blog-friends with Finn Holding for some time now, and I’m delighted that you’ve given both of us your gracious nod of approval. I thank you!

  4. ferragudofan says:

    not disqualified at all! I understand that some people don’t like to display awards – I have mine on a separate page on my blog myself…

  5. The Creator says:

    Argylesock, that you so much for the list :) I am honored to be on it and look forward to creating friends with fellow bloggers/websites; something that I have been meaning to do. I appreciate it this greatly! Keep the great work up that you always do.

  6. Moth says:

    Thank you very much for the highlight! I hope my writing is of value… I was nominated a couple year ago when I focused almost entirely on the science of climate (and to lesser extent, sustainable ag).

    I hope the judges overlook their rules and instead focus on your content. Good luck!

  7. timr6 says:

    Thanks so much for including me on your list, much appreciated! Going to check out the others now. Keep up the great work!

  8. Sciencelens says:

    Thank you kindly, argylesock – this is a real honour!

  9. littlesundog says:

    What a lovely surprise this morning, to see you’ve included me on your list! Thank you so much argylesock! I believe I’ll have my morning coffee and look at the other’s listed. What a wonderful start to my day!

  10. Finn Holding says:

    Thankyou very much for including me in your list. It’s very pleasing indeed to be recognised by another scientist, especially as your blog is doing such a great job in shining a light on the most urgent scientific issues and campaigning for sustainability. I’m looking forward to exploring the others on the list that I have seen before.

    • argylesock says:

      Oh my, thank you! I enjoy writing popsci more than I expected to enjoy it and it’s great to know that people enjoy reading it. Must be doing something right ;-) Your blog is excellent too and several of those I recommend here are blogs I found by following your links.

      • Finn Holding says:

        You’re definitely doing it right! I love reading popsci when it’s written by someone who knows what they’re doing; ‘proper’ popsci!

        I’ve found, and also rediscovered, several blogs from reading Science on the Land too. The awesome connectivity of the internet!

  11. narf77 says:

    What a wonderful list and I am SO proud to be in it! Time to shuffle some of my rss feed reads to include some new reading material methinks :) You just made me smile AND freak out a bit by the way. I got the notification of a pingback (no problems there) BUT I have been thinking about my mum who died in January this year. At this time last year my sister had just told her that she had bought her a ticket to come and see us for Christmas. She was SO excited because she loved it here…she couldn’t stop talking about it to anyone that would listen. She had the best Christmas here and then she went back home and died 2 weeks later and your pingback says “Pen and Steve try to find order in all this chaos”…My name is Fran… my mum’s pet name for me was “Pen”…I don’t know where you came up with Pen, but it gave me a bit of a start early this morning when I sat down to read my comments and rss feed reader I can tell you! Cheers for the kudos and cheers for the wonderful tangle of blogs for me to explore now :)

    • argylesock says:

      I’ll go now and correct your name. Sorry about the mix-up which was due to somebody calling you Pen in a reply to your ‘about’ post.

      Anyway thank you for thanking me! I added some more blogs to my ‘recommended’ list after seeing them on your blogroll, checking them out and liking what I found.

      • narf77 says:

        :) It was mum who called me Pen in that post…I went and checked but it was really REALLY weird as I was watching something about near death experiences last night and went to bed thinking about my mother and if it were at all possible to communicate from beyond the grave. I don’t actually believe in that sort of thing and had been openly ridiculing some mediums that I was watching rip off some poor desperate people BUT after drifting off wondering if mum was wafting about out there somewhere you have to admit, it was a very weird coincidence to wake up to that! ;).

  12. Thank you so much for including my blog along with so many other interesting (some familiar!) websites on your list. Very much appreciated and great to see so many ‘on the same page’ regarding sustainability and shared passions. I love helping people learn more about taking small steps to make better choices about how they live, even if it’s a small container of food to start with. Keep up the great work and looking forward to checking out the listed sites! Cheers Anne

  13. kasia says:

    Thank you, argylesock, so much! Even though my blog is not working anymore as it used to, I take it as the biggest compliment!! :)

    • argylesock says:

      I’m hoping that you and your team will restart Scienceprone. Or make another blog – do let me know if you start one. You were a real encouragement to me when I first got into writing popsci… and now look!

  14. Pingback: How to freak out a penniless hippy and bean sprouting 101 « theroadtoserendipity

  15. Sue says:

    Wow — thanks for compiling such a great list, and for adding my blog to it. I am always looking for new science-type blogs and this gives me a great place to start.

    • argylesock says:

      You’re welcome. It’s good to e-meet you. I’ll continue to add to this list, and to the copy of it that’s now accessible from the front of my own blog, whenever I find another good science blog.

  16. tamara says:

    Thank you argilesock-I see I am in a good company ;)
    besides it is good to have such a list, I can’t wait to read some other blogs from it
    and it is funny to hear we have all a sort of aversion towards awards-OK I was happy getting the first one,but now I do think they take too much time with all the answers and silly prepositions…..a hard decision actually…..

    • argylesock says:

      There seems to be an anti-awards rebellion building! I got several awards within about a week of starting to blog on WP, when I didn’t yet know whose writing to recommend, so I felt pressurised to answer daft questions. Mostly I didn’t get around to answering. More recently, the awards have been coming my way infrequently. Perhaps people like you and me get a reputation for curmudgeonliness or something!

      Anyway yes, I’m glad to have compiled a list of recommended science blogs. I’ve put a link to it on my own blog’s sidebar too. So now whenever I find another to recommend, I update the list in both places.

      • tamara says:

        hi,sorry for answering you so late-I’ve been quiet busy outside my blogging world! And then there have been some new nominations-it is hard indeed to decide what is right .It is good to know somebody nominated you and one of my friends says-these awards are meant to help us.But as there are many of us rejecting at least some of the awards it means they are not the best.But what should be done?An award with more strict criteria perhaps…

  17. 23thorns says:

    Thank you kindly, Argylesock! Firstly, because this is the first time anyone has accused me of being scientific. A scientific curiosity, maybe, but never scientific!
    And secondly, for giving me the opportunity, for the first time ever, to call someone Argylesock in casual conversation. The internet is a wonderful place.

  18. argylesock says:

    Hello! It’s good to e-meet you. I wasn’t sure that your blog belonged on my list but you wrote so well about birdwatching.

    As for my username, I really do wear Argyle socks for work. Plus pinstriped shirts and tweed jackets. Aka argyling up ;-) If you’d like to read the first post I ever made on WP, you can see what dressing this way achieved for me. Scientists can be such a riffraff of sartorial disaster that it’s quite easy to be the smart one.

  19. Chanel Hason says:

    I appreciate the love! Thank you so much. Can’t wait to check out the other blogs I’m not familiar with :D

    • argylesock says:

      Oh good! I’m glad to e-meet you and look forward to seeing what you say.

      My list of good blogs continues to grow. I’ve put a link to it on my own blog’s front page too.

  20. Jo Ann says:

    Thank you so much for the mention of Wood and Field. I am familiar with many of the other blogs you mentioned and I am indeed honored to be in such fine and articulate company. I write for a mainstream audience hoping to instill in my readers a respect and appreciation for all of nature and an understanding that we are all connected to the natural world around us.

    • argylesock says:

      You’re welcome! I too aim for a mainstream audience – the intelligent general reader. Probably the same person who reads New Scientist or National Geographic. This is a change of direction because I’m an academic and writing in academic format is comfortable to me. But after my health fell apart (multiple sclerosis) I needed to find different ways to work, then one of the Professors I know suggested a science blog. So here I am :-)

      It will be good to read your blog and to learn from you about communicating to people. And of course, to learn about the topics you choose.

  21. sedeer says:

    I just realized that I’ve been included in this list — thanks for the honor! Now I’m off to check out some of the other blogs you’ve listed…

  22. Rob Viens says:

    Thanks for the recommendation and link to the Beagle Project!

  23. Thanks! I will have to take a look at some of the other interesting science blogs you recommended as well!

  24. Rachel says:

    Thank you for recommending my blog ecologyescapades :) However, the author is not Alan Colledge, that is just a separate page written by me about him! Hehe.

  25. Vinny Grette says:

    Wow, what an amazing list of references! I’ve bookmarked it

  26. Thank you so much for making us a part of this list. We are really grateful for this support!

    • argylesock says:

      You’re welcome. I like what you’re doing on your blog. Btw when you reblogged something of mine today, you made my day because that’s the first time I’ve been reblogged.

  27. nfspies says:

    Wow! Thankyou kindly Argylesock! You’ve given me something to live up to. :)

Leave a Reply

