Weeds are fighting back

If you spray herbicide (weedkiller) on your land, it kills the weeds. Until they fight back by becoming resistant and then your herbicide doesn’t get rid of them any more.

The International Survey of Herbicide Resistant Weeds watches what’s happening. Here’s its summary of the most recent reports of herbicide resistant weeds. Here’s its list of the number of resistant species to individual herbicides.

I’m grateful to Jeremy Cherfas at the Agricultural BioDiversity Weblog for drawing attention to this story.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture, horticulture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment