Growing nutritious vegetables to empower women and feed families

I’ve become quite impressed by Helen Keller International (HKI), a non-governmental organisation devoted to preventing blindness and reducing malnutrition. One of HKI’s strategies is ‘Homestead Food Production’.

The HKI blog tells us about Rashida Begum: A New Entrepreneur in Bangladesh. Mrs Begum and her neighbours grow vegetables, sell them within walking distance of their village, and feed their children a more nutritious diet than they used to do.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in horticulture, human health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

