Farmers protest over supermarket milk prices

Breaking news today of farmers blockading milk processing plants in protest against a cut in the price they’re paid for milk. UK dairy farmers aren’t allowed to sell their milk directly to shops and (I think) not at the farm gate either. They have to sell it through statutory bodies, formerly the Milk Marketing Boards. I’m not yet an expert on this story but here’s an article about it published today in the Farmers Guardian.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Farmers protest over supermarket milk prices

  1. I have read before about the problems between dairy farmers and the major supermarket chains in relation to the behaviour of buyers, and the way that prices for milk have been dropping at the farm gate, whilst the cost to farmers has been increasing.
    Thanks for the link tot he farmers guardian site, its not a site I was familiar with.

  2. argylesock says:

    The next day, you’ll have seen that I posted an update about this story.

Leave a Reply

