Support for farmers’ protest about supermarket milk prices

Comments about supermarket milk prices were in the BBC News online yesterday. I particularly like the drawing of a milk carton near the bottom of that page. Of course retailers need to make a profit – that’s why they sell things – but this drawing shows just how huge the supermarket’s mark-up is compared to how much the farmer is allowed to earn.

The National Farmers’ Union is offering downloadable posters. Farmers Weekly is offering a different poster but we’re all on the same side here, so take your pick! I think I’ll put a poster in the front window of my house.

Another of my online friends points out that the cheap non-organic milk is now vastly cheaper than the organic brands. So this price squeeze on the dairy farmer may be going to hit the organic dairy farmer even harder than it hits others. I haven’t blogged here yet about organic farming but whatever your opinion of it, would you consider spending a few pence extra to buy organic milk at this time?

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

