Sushi

When I was growing up here in England, sushi was one of those weird foreign foods that we rarely saw and never ate. But British tastes do change. We’re conservative people on the whole. But we do change.

In some parts of the country, sushi bars are now popular, and places where you can buy takeaway snacks now often feature sushi. Some people here still wouldn’t touch raw fish unless they were starving, and even then they’d probably try to grill it over a cigarette lighter or something! But others, like me, have developed a taste for sushi.

How sustainable is your sushi? I like this website about it which has taught me a lot. But that website’s American. I wonder where I might find sustainable sushi over here.

How safe is your sushi? Being a parasitologist, I probably shouldn’t eat sushi because of its parasites. But I *like* sushi. I don’t eat it very often, as it happens, but for many people it’s part of a staple diet. There’s evidence that sushi infects people in Asia with zoonotic parasites so of course, it could infect people outside Asia too. For example there’s evidence linking sushi with human nematode infections in Canada and Western Europe.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in fish and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sushi

  1. Not directly related to sushi, but I know you have been writing about sustainability in fishing, so I thought this might be of interest to you.

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/environment/2012/aug/21/fish-demand-uk-sea-supply

    • argylesock says:

      Yes that is interesting, thank you. I wonder how much difference it will make that discards in UK fisheries have been stopped at last. It’s a while since I saw any restaurant menu offering ‘catch of the day’ and I hope that will come back. It’s analagous to ‘seasonal vegetables’. As a consumer I like the idea of eating what’s available. As a chef (a few years ago now) I liked the challenge of deciding how to serve such produce.

  2. lowerarchy says:

    BTW – I’ve nominated your blog for the Super Sweet Blogging Award x

  3. Pingback: Seafood is getting more popular in Britain | Science on the Land

Leave a Reply

