Hello Mr Paterson

We’re getting Owen Paterson as Secretary of State for DEFRA. He does seem to be serious about the countryside, so in that sense I’m pleased. He’s a true-blue Tory which I’m not. Some of the farmers I know are Tories, though.

Concerns have been expressed about Mr Paterson’s attitude to science. He’s made controversial remarks about shale gas, airport runways and badger culling, among other things. I’m a scientist so I’m not going to jump to conclusions about Mr Paterson. What do you think of him?

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture, ecology, horticulture, money and trade and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hello Mr Paterson

  1. Andrew says:

    I’m afraid I don’t know anything about Owen Paterson but I’m appalled they’ve put Jeremy Hunt in charge of Health. He seems to believe in homeopathy and be reportedly anti-abortion and against stem cell research. Oh dear. So much for evidence lead policy making.

    • argylesock says:

      I don’t know a lot about Mr Paterson either, in fact I hadn’t heard of him until today. But Goofle found me the links I put into the above post.
      You’re probably right about Mr Hunt.

  2. Daniel Digby says:

    I’ll jump to conclusions for you. He sounds a lot like our former Secretary of the Interior, James Watt, only less extreme. Maybe the countryside will only be partially raped. I’ll check with Congressman Todd Akin to see if that qualifies as a “legitimate rape”.

  3. lowerarchy says:

    His Wikipedia entry makes interesting reading. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Owen_Paterson
    While I wouldn’t expect to personally like him, I seen a lot worse Tory MPs. He’s been around a bit – N Ireland, transport and Shadow agriculture, Fisheries and Food Minister from 2003-05. He wrote the green paper report “Consultation on a National Policy on Fisheries Management in U.K.Waters” used by celebrity chef Hugh Fearnley-Marketstall for the Fish Fight Campaign – which wasn’t awful 🙂 He doesn’t like gays much which usually means in Tory circles he’s a closet queen…
    He’s married to Matt Ridley’s sister – he of failed Northern Rock and something of a science writer – I’ve read and critiqued his Origins of Virtue in my novel 🙂

  4. Pingback: Wickedness, Mr Paterson? | Science on the Land

Leave a Reply

