Urban ‘fish allotment’

After our recent discussions about fish farming on land, even on roofs, I’m excited to see that a ‘fish allotment’ scheme is being tried in Bristol.

Like the German proposal for rooftop fish farms, this proposal involves using the fish waste to fertilise crops. But the Bristol researchers plan to use tilapia, as do some Stateside fish farmers.

I say that it’ll be great if onshore fish farming becomes successful in Britain. Which species would be best? That remains to be seen. My thread about tilapia did include some discussion about whether that species is a good choice for human nutrition, and I notice that the Bristol project’s founder didn’t choose carp because ‘people don’t tend to like the taste of it’. And of course like all farmers, fish farmers do it for the money. The system would need to be developed so that it would make a profit.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in fish and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Urban ‘fish allotment’

  1. eqfe says:

    I always get a kick out of “critics” OMG tilapia isn’t as good for your health as wild caught salmon. Giveen the price differential, those two fish are purchased by different segments of the population so it’s pretty much irrelevant. Tilapia or any fish for that matter even if it’s friend, in vegetable oil is healthier than a high fat hamburger. DId you link us to the video of the man who had a three acre, highly productive fish farm operation? If not I’ll give you the link.

  2. eqfe says:

    http://anthropogen.com/2012/07/30/vertically-integrated-intensive-greenhouse-aquaponics/ I think that this came from a friend of yours, but I can’t swear to it

  3. If carp is heavily smoked it is absolutely delicious. But it has to be smoked like jerky or wild game. Maybe the ladies would not like it.

    • argylesock says:

      I don’t find that tastes in food are gender-specific.

      Anyway, thanks for the info about carp. I like smoked food but it’s one of many things that my disability has forced me to give up. Is there another good way to prepare carp?

  4. Yes, there is an old recipe for carp that you may have heard of. You must follow the directions exactly though. Place the carp on a bamboo cutting board. Remove the head. Remove the entrials through the opening where the neck was. Stuff the carp with diced carrots and rudabagas. Wrap the carp in aluminum foil. Place the carp on the cutting board and cook at 175 degrees F for 2 hours. Remove from oven, throw the carp in the garbage and eat the board. Add salt if necessary.
    Good luck, Wally

Leave a Reply

