Linking agriculture and land use change to pollinator populations

Pollinating insects are in trouble. Here in Britain the AgriLand project is underway to explain what’s been happening and to predict what might happen in the future. The team will use these findings to advise people on how to manage land and pollinators.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture, ecology, horticulture, miniculture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Linking agriculture and land use change to pollinator populations

  1. This is a major concern, and I do not think it has been given enough coverage in the press. I have seen some documentaries in the UK about trying to re-introduce meadows and strips along the sides of fields to allow for pollinators to return to areas, but I have not seen a great deal of media coverage of it.
    Whether it is not seen as interesting enough, or too complicated, or maybe people do not like insects very much, I don’t know, but insects are awesome, and we need them, even if just to keep our green spaces looking and smelling nice!
    Interestingly enough, our modern gardens may be partly responsible too, as many garden centre plants have little to no nectar, so there is nothing for the pollinators to come and drink.

    • argylesock says:

      Yes indeed. I find a woeful ignorance in most people about insects. If it’s buzzing and it has yellow and black stripes, it’s an evil wasp that wants to sting you! If it’s buzzing and it doesn’t have those stripes, it’s an evil fly that wants to bite you! Etc etc. Even the fact that there are bees other than honeybees is widely unknown.

      Mention bees and most people want to tell you that ‘the scientists’ have explained Colony Collapse Disorder. That’s not entirely true – it’s still

      I’m proud to be working in the Faculty where the Leeds pollinator experts work. In fact, I think that I’m part of the AgriLand project 🙂 but so far I’ve just been working on an hourly rate without having been told why this data needs entering. Must find out asap!

    • argylesock says:

      Oops, pressed the wrong key! I was saying that Colony Collapse Disorder remains something of a mystery. The literature on CCD was what I set out Goofling for but I found the AgriLand project first so that’s what this blog post ended up being about.

    • argylesock says:

      PS You might already be following Beetles in the Bush, but if not I think you might like it. http://beetlesinthebush.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

