Ocean acidification and commercial fisheries

The United States’ National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) publishes an excellent blog on WordPress, Ocean Acidification. Today NOAA announced research projects that it’s funding, about ocean acidification and commercial fisheries.

This is important science. But I can’t resist saying that NOAA is aptly named. Noah’s Ark, geddit?

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in fish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ocean acidification and commercial fisheries

  1. petrel41 says:

    Yes … though Noah’s Ark, according to tradition, was for land animals. Marine animals did not need it 🙂

  2. Acidification has been widely discussed (maybe not in the media under that label), since the mid 2000s, and probably well before that (a google scholar search threw up some 1999 papers)

    It is something I have been aware of, because it is one of the first things covered in both chemistry and some geography classes, that H20 + CO2 = H2CO3, and the amount of this that is formed, as opposed to bicarbonate (HCO3) depends on the temperature of the water, and that temperatures in the sea are increasing, and so the acidity will also increase.

    I am also aware of it because I read the IPCC report from 2007 for one of my uni projects (Yes, I did have too much time on my hands!)
    http://www.ipcc.ch/publications_and_data/ar4/wg1/en/ch10s10-4-2.html
    The excellent “Real Climate” site has a post from 2005 http://www.realclimate.org/index.php/archives/2005/07/the-acid-ocean-the-other-problem-with-cosub2sub-emission/
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ocean_acidification
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/miyoko-sakashita/clownfish-endangered_b_1895250.html

    • argylesock says:

      Thanks for these links. I did my first degree in the mid-late 1980s and my first MSc (the one in Ecology) in 1989. Since then, I haven’t worked on environmental chemistry and it sounds as though your knowledge is more up to date than mine is.

      • I dont think mine is necessarily up to date, it is just that I originally wanted to do Climate Science, so wrote my first 3 projects at uni on various aspects of climate change and projecting soil carbon stock changes over the next century.
        Then I found out how much maths was involved in atmospheric physics, and ran for the hills to the safer areas of environmental biology!

        Now I have one eye on climate change, as it relates to ecosystems, and am considering doing my MSc on a subject similar to that.

        You are way ahead of me on knowledge though, and I get the feeling I will probably be asking you lots of questions about parasites in the future 🙂

Leave a Reply

