Pride in my great-uncle

My great-uncle Kenneth Mason died when I was eight years old. I never met him and I’d always thought that he’d passed away long before my birth. But no, he was an old man when I was little. He’d been a Professor at the college where I later became an undergraduate.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in ecology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pride in my great-uncle

  1. Very nice! He would be proud that you are proud of him. Handsome fellow!

    • argylesock says:

      Yes I do wish that I’d met him. As for handsome, well you can see my userpic 😉

      • Yes, I should have seen the resemblence. The glasses threw me off. NOT YOURS; the ones I am drinking my Manhattans from.

        • argylesock says:

          Snork! I never wore specs until a year or two ago. When I first needed them (and found that I needed these heavy frames, because of the kind of eye problem I have) it was quite traumatic. Then somebody told me that I look dead brainy in specs, in fact, that all the best academics wear them.

          What’s a Manhattan? I thought it was a place but evidently it’s also a drink.

          • A drink. Several types. My favorite is a glass 2.5 inches in diameter and height, fill with ice, add 2 shots of Southern Comfort, 1 capful of extra dry vermouth (not normal vermouth), 1 teaspoon of cherry juice and stir diligently but very carefully so as not to spill even one drop. Enjoy!

  2. sharechair says:

    How nice! I enjoy genealogy as another passion, and treasures like this are a source of great pride and fun!

  3. Wow, I love those sorts of co-incidences! My partner has a family tree book going back to 1600 or so, and it is fascinating seeing how people who did not have contact with each other ended up in similar fields of work several generations apart!

    • argylesock says:

      Did any lookalikes turn up? A few other people in my vast clan have got into genealogy and there’s a photo from the 1940s of some distant rellie who looks exactly like me! As for the brains and the outdoorsy tendencies, well maybe that’s genetic 😉 or maybe outdoorsy is just the way any sensible person would be.

      • There are not any photos, it is just a family made book with details about each persons job, relations etc, up until 1985 or something, I think much of it was put together through the “family” museum they had in a nearby town although, looking at the wiki entry for one of them, I am sure I see a resemblance, although I think that is confirmation bias!

Leave a Reply

