Sign Brian May’s petition for badgers

My fellow bloggers at Animal Connection invite us to sign this e-petition.

In my opinion the badger cull is a waste of resources. Bovine tuberculosis (bTB) is a serious problem but the science doesn’t point to killing badgers. I think there’s more to be gained by reducing the movement of cattle around our country.

It took me a while to reach this opinion. If interested you can follow the ‘Badgers’ tag on my blog here.

I like it when celebrities use their fame to support good causes. Brian May is one of my heroes because his music is incomparable and because he’s a scientist. When he’d had enough of being a rock star, he went to Imperial College and got his PhD in astrophysics. Now he’s Chancellor of Liverpool John Moores University.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture, ecology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

