Wetland birds

The British wetlands are special places, providing habitats for special birds. My fellow blogger, Finn Holding, told us about waders at the Royal Society for the Protection of Birds (RSPB)’s reserve at Titchwell. Another blogger, petrel41, told us how waders did well on British wetland sites during the harsh winter of 20120/11.

As habitat managment improves and as climate changes, some species I’ve never seen or heard are returning to our wetlands. I grew up with pictures of these species but never thought they’d be here again for real. Not all is perfect, though. Waders and other birds still face threats of human origin, including lead gunshot.

Wetlands are a group of habitat types which sometimes can be restored. The waders may not even wait! In Somerset rare birds arrived on a nature reserve before it was finished.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in ecology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wetland birds

  1. petrel41 says:

    Thank you for your links 🙂

  2. Interesting post 🙂 As I have told you elsewhere, my main passion is wetlands, and conservation/restoration of them, I am one of those geeks who gets Wetland Ecology textbooks out of the library for fun, so this was a very good post to read

    • argylesock says:

      Oh good! Now I have several wetlands enthusiasts reading my blog – I e-met finn holding yesterday – so if I write waderibollix, I hope you’ll tell me so (politely of course).

      I’ve never been a real birder. More a gardener, an agricultural scientist, a conservation volunteer and a hillwalker. Birding seems to involve a lot of waiting motionless in cold places, hoping that the birds will show themselves. Still as you know, I have happy memories of going out to hear the Dawn Chorus with my local Wildlife Trust when I was about 8.

  3. As an RSPB member, I must find and follow these bloggers 🙂

  4. Finn Holding says:

    Thanks for the pinging The Naturephile! I’m looking forward to chasing up the other links too.

Leave a Reply

