Tree of the month: Bramble

The moon is new today so we’ve just entered the Month of the Bramble or the Month of the Vine. You might choose to follow my ‘Ogham’ tag for earlier posts in this series. Several of the species called ‘trees’ in the Ogham are shrubs or climbers, not trees. But they’re all woody species.

Here in Britain the bramble (Rubus fruticosus agg.) is widespread and common. It’s one of the glories of our hedges.

The fruit of the wild bramble is the blackberry. In late summer and early autumn, blackberrying trips are fun so long as you’re careful of the spiky plants. You can eat it straight from the vine, cook it into tasty dishes and jams or brew it into wine. Who needs the grapevine (Vitis spp.) when you can make blackberry wine? The best home wine I ever made was blackberry port and as a home wine should, it knocked your socks off.

My childhood home backed onto a landfill site where R. fruticosus grew in abundance. There was a belt of trees, no doubt planted to shield us from the sight of the rubbish dump, and we didn’t have Right of Way over there. But we and our neighbours often trespassed on the landfill. It teemed with birds and it was the first place I saw wild bulrushes (Scirpus iacustris). We’d recycle furniture that people had thrown away and in season, we’d pick blackberries.

The owners of that site probably regarded R. fruticosus as a weed. It turns up on waste ground, in gardens and farmland throughout the British lowlands and hills. If unchecked it contributes to the succession towards woodland. When wild brambles invade your land it’s not easy to control the vines. Bramble-bashing is one of the jobs that Conservation Volunteers do.

On the other hand, we have cultivated blackberries. I inherited an ‘Oregon Giant’ with my allotment. This year, along with my other fruit bushes, the blackberry has thrived in our cool wet summer. I’ve been freezing a lot and I expect to be enjoying blackberries all through the year.

[Edit] Nearly a year later my fellow blogger Theresa Green at Everyday Nature Trails tells us about the blackberry bramble.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in ecology, horticulture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tree of the month: Bramble

  1. mottledthrush says:

    Reblogged this on MottledThrush and commented:
    Blackberry crumble made as soon as you get home from blackberrying..nothing better…yummy!

    • argylesock says:

      Thanks for reblogging 🙂

      Yes blackberry crumble is a classic. How do you serve yours? I like it with custard (the Bird’s kind – milk thickened with cornflour) and not too sweet. My OH likes it with pouring cream, pref the clotted kind, and she’s well on the way to converting my taste!

  2. Pingback: Apples | Science on the Land

  3. Pingback: Wild food | Science on the Land

  4. Pingback: Tree of the month: Ivy | Science on the Land

  5. theresagreen says:

    I like to read posts that mention childhood associations with natural things, I think that early ‘connectedness’ is really important and wonder if a lot of our environmental problems now are brought about by people that missed out on it. Thank you for the link to my blog and I hope the blackbirds don’t steal all of your blackberries!
    A variation on blackberry and apple pie – core an apple, stuff it with blackberries & sugar, wrap in sweet pastry, bake & serve with a blackberry syrup and cream.

Leave a Reply

