Badger culling

My fellow blogger MottledThrush shows us what’s being said in Brussels about badgers. Here’s a list of notifiable diseases affecting livestock in Britain.

Our Secretary of State, Owen Paterson, is taking a political risk here isn’t he? He might win votes or lose them over this. I wish badger culling didn’t overshadow other issues about our countryside but I think that’s exactly what it’s doing. It reminds me of how debate raged about fox hunting with dogs, during the Blair Government. I always believed that was being used as a smokescreen for other issues.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture, ecology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Badger culling

  1. Carol Hague says:

    “I wish badger culling didn’t overshadow other issues about our countryside but I think that’s exactly what it’s doing”

    We may not agree on the badger culling issue, but I do agree about this – like the Prince Harry scandal recently, the Govt use things like this to draw attention away from things they’d rather we didn’t notice. Sneaky wossnames they are, the lot of ’em.

Leave a Reply

