Crabs, mussels, octopus and cuttlefish

Seafood doesn’t have to involve scales and fins. There are other kinds of edible fish. But like other fish, shellfish are vulnerable to climate change.

Eivind Burkow at The Coastal House tells us that here in Europe, brown crab fisheries are doing well. Also that Tesco is now selling fresh octopus and cuttlefish. Meanwhile mussel farming is an industry to watch.

According to the Coastal House post I’ve just linked to, mussels have potential as sustainable aquaculture. But climate change is a challenge. Lina Hansson at the European Project on OCean Acidification (EPOCA) tells us that climate change is hurting the shellfish market.

There are great seafood recipes. There are ready-made seafood products too, including fishcakes approved by the Marine Stewardship Council (MSC). I hope we’ll be offered more ready-made shellfish products in the near future. It’s fun to eat mussels from their shells and so on, as a novelty on special occasions. But for real market impact I’d like to see a wider range of seafood products such as crab cakes and cuttlefish chowders.

The farmed meat industries are forging ahead with adding value to their products. So are the seafood industries, but as yet the value-adding is still quite focused on a few kinds of seafood.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in fish, weather and climate and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Crabs, mussels, octopus and cuttlefish

  1. EqFe says:

    Generally speaking prepared seafood products in the States are garbage, full of fillers and thick batters and chemicals. I prefer fresh seafood. and for some applications, canned with a pinch of salt or frozen is fine. Fortunately I have a good diversity of fresh seafood sourses locally. What’s interesting, is that I live in the exact center of crab lover land, and that’s one fresh seafood that is just too expensive hereabouts for me to buy.

    • argylesock says:

      How disappointing for you. I’ve forgotten where in the States you are but you may recall that I loved ❤ ❤ the Maryland crab cakes when we were there. Over here, in our favourite pub there used to be excellent Suffolk crab cakes on the menu until very recently. Either of those recipes would have been fine as a chilled ready meal. Judging by the pub-menu price, such a ready meal could be sold affordably.

      Yes tinned seafood can be good too. I'll take a look next time we're shopping.

  2. I love shellfish. One of my most memorable meals was being served a bucket full of mussles in Ireland. The problem is that I can not remember if it was Killarney or Tipperary. My three sons, my wife and I all had a bucket each and they were absolutely delicious.

  3. We have an abundance of invasive Zebra mussels here in Lake Michigan in the States, but no one has come up with a recipe for them yet. Any suggestions?

  4. Pingback: Adding value to seafood | Science on the Land

  5. Pingback: Food from acidifying waters | Science on the Land

Leave a Reply

