Seafood is getting more popular in Britain

Continuing my thoughts about seafood, I’ll point to what my fellow blogger Eivind Burkow at The Coastal House says about restaurant trends in Britain.

Apparently the trend towards seafood involves more sushi. Sushi isn’t always sustainable and it isn’t always safe but doesn’t it taste good? If you like it, choose carefully and enjoy. I hope we’ll soon find the Marine Stewardship Council (MSC) logo routinely on restaurant menus.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in ecology, fish and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seafood is getting more popular in Britain

  1. sharechair says:

    I just don’t “get” sushi. I’ve tried it multiple times, I’ve been taken by my son to an upscale sushi restaurant that was supposed to blow my socks off… but I just don’t get it. I’d much rather have my seafood grilled, blackened, or even fried. But definitely cooked. For taste, if nothing else.

    • argylesock says:

      Fair enough. I’d say the same thing about anything spicy.

      Being an Englishwoman who grew up in the 1970s, I really didn’t expect to like sushi. Being a parasitologist I was sure I’d be too afraid of what’s wriggling in there. But in fact {name-drop warning} I was introduced to sushi by one of the world’s most famous parasitologists http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qokhHeCZbSo and it turned out to be delicious!

      Each to their own, though. I’m glad you enjoy cooked seafood. So do I in fact.

Leave a Reply

