Fisheries

Wrangling continues about our European seas. The committee discussing the Common Fisheries Policy has made ‘compromise’ suggestions and there’s to be a vote on Tuesday.

My fellow blogger Finn Holding at The Naturephile showed me this letter from our Member of the European Parliament, Chris Davies.

I think the ‘compromise’ suggestions look quite sensible. No more overfishing! No more discards! Long-term management plans! More science! No lowering of standards when European boats fish abroad! Movement towards sustainable aquaculture!

But as Mr Davies says, ‘The Committee is expected to vote on December 18, and the outcome is on a knife edge.’

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in fish and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fisheries

  1. EqFe says:

    In my view, “No more overfishing” and “No more discards” are mutually exclusive. If the fishing industry is allowed to keep, fish caught over the quota, even as a bi-product of targeting a different species they will catch even more of those.

    • argylesock says:

      In fact I disagree with you here. My summary of the committee’s suggestions was a popsci version of Mr Davies’ words in his letter that I linked to:

      ‘The key issues include the measures necessary to rebuild fish stocks (above maximum sustainable yield), end the discard of commercial species of fish, set long term management plans for every fishery, reduce the overcapacity of Europe’s fishing fleet, obtain scientific evidence on the state of stocks, decentralise management to regional bodies, insist that EU vessels fishing elsewhere in the world meet the same standards as here, and promote sustainable aquaculture.’

      It seems to me that there’s no suggestion of allowing fishers to keep fish caught over their quota. If that were allowed, indeed it would take away the point of having a quota system.

Leave a Reply

