Debunking Xmas

My recent blog posts have been influenced by the ‘festive’ season, as you may have noticed. But as Xmas looms – my least-liked time of year – I recommend what my fellow blogger the Sceptical Prophet wrote: Christmas Has Nothing to Do With Jesus. More interesting than Jesus, I find, to focus on the scientific topics in the stories and the rituals. So I’ll carry on doing that until I feel like writing about something else.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in knowledge transfer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Debunking Xmas

  1. Pingback: A Holly for the Solstice | thinkingcowgirl

  2. Pingback: Having a beef with the ox and the ass | Science on the Land

  3. narf77 says:

    We spent a nice quiet sustainable Christmas this year and our fridge isn’t stuffed full of leftovers, our stomachs aren’t stuffed full of overpriced intercontinental food and our bank account isn’t going to be hit by something akin to the Mayan apocolypse come February when the credit card bills come in (not that we HAVE a credit card mind you…). Christmas is one HUGE waste of money…all hype designed to get us to spend and nothing to do with end of year celebrations or giving thanks because of our human condition…time we bypassed the media and took Christmas back methinks 🙂

  4. Daniel Digby says:

    Xmas has nothing to do with Jesus? As I like to point out to my Baptist cohorts who insist on “putting Christ back into Xmas”, the sole purpose of the day is to celebrate mass on Jesus’ feast day. (Then comes the puzzled look as they ponder what a mass is.)

  5. Daniel Digby says:

    (And what is a feast day?)

    • argylesock says:

      In these times, in rich countries, it’s a day for putting too much food in front of yourself and your children, eating too much of it and throwing the rest into landfill. In these countries not long ago, it was a day for eating special food that you couldn’t afford at other times. In poor countries, sfaik it’s a day for going hungry as usual or eating some handouts. Except that many people in poor countries don’t go hungry because they work hard, within the limits of the system where they find themselves.
      Still nothing to do with Jesus.

Leave a Reply

