Using marine algae

Saltwater algae might be a crop for the future.

My fellow blogger narhvalur draws attention to G. Narasimha Rao’s article in The Hindu, pointing out the potential benefits of algaculture.

Here in Britain, cell lines and training courses are available at the Culture Collection of Algae and Protozoa. Another blogger, Sue at Wood Elf Weekly, points out BioMara. That’s ‘a joint UK and Irish project that aims to demonstrate the feasibility and viability of producing third generation biofuels from marine biomass.’ I was wrong to claim that algae aren’t seaweeds! According to Biomara, both macroalgae (seaweeds) and microalgae (single-celled plants) grow in salt water. More to learn… I’m watching.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in knowledge transfer, miniculture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Using marine algae

  1. Pingback: Algaculture | Science on the Land

Leave a Reply

