Beef products without horse or pig

The Food Standards Agency (FSA) says that it tested another batch of beef products. The products came from Dalepak, one of the companies whose beefburgers contained DNA evidence of horse and pig meat. This time, FSA found that the beef products were beef.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beef products without horse or pig

  1. Carol Hague says:

    I hadn’t heard before that it was Dalepak products which were contaminated. I would have been quite concerned about that a few years ago, when I used to buy quite a few of Dalepak’s vegetarian range, in case there was also contamination of the veggie products with meat. These days I don’t buy their products any longer – not because of any quality issues, but because I prefer Quorn.

    • argylesock says:

      I’d have been concerned about meat in the veggie products too, after what happened with those beefburgers. But only ‘concerned’ – I’ve seen no evidence of Dalepak veggie products being contaminated.

      • Carol Hague says:

        Oh quite – it’s just something that’s prone to come to mind as a possibility – once one instance of contamination comes to light, one can’t help but wonder whether it’s the only one or just the only one to be spotted. And of course one wonders if other manufacturers are similarly affected but nobody’s twigged yet….

Leave a Reply

