Fillet-O-Fish from sustainable fisheries

The fast-food chain, McDonald’s, has been selling Marine Stewardship Council (MSC)-certified fish since 2011 in 39 European countries. Last week it announced that it will start to display the MSC label on packaging for fish products in the United States.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in fish and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fillet-O-Fish from sustainable fisheries

  1. Finn Holding says:

    MSC certified it may be, which I assume is a good thing, but on the one occasion I had the grave misfortune so sample one of McD’s fof I swore to myself I’d never do it again. They’re revolting! An ignominious demise for any poor piscean that ends up at McD’s.

    • argylesock says:

      I’m no fan of McD either! But it’s very popular, partly because the company adapts to local culture (eg spicy McMeals in India, I’ve heard) and to changing fashions. Because of the latter, I’m thrilled to read of the MSC certified Fillet-O-Fish. If there’s ever a Freedom Food McBurger that will be great too. Better still to stop using heaps of ‘disposable’ packaging to litter the streets and clog the landfills.

Leave a Reply

