Food, farmers and markets: towards Government action for smallholders in 2013

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture, food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Food, farmers and markets: towards Government action for smallholders in 2013

  1. EqFe says:

    “We need to manage repeated food price spikes, reach nearly a billion people who are currently chronically hungry, and plan for the demands of a population of nine billion by 2050 in the face of climate change.” And presumable 10,billion by 2075 or something like that. As long as we accept a steadily increasing human population we guarentee a rising number of chronically hungry. Truthfully, I don’t have any answers, but more depressing than that, if rising population in the face of starvation is inevitable, than I don’t think that there are any.
    When drought and starvation hit an area of the world, the only morally correct thing to do, is to get food there quickly, which sustains the populaion in the short term, and postpones the inevitable starvation in that part of the world

    • argylesock says:

      You and I probably won’t agree on this. I’d like to point out that very few people actually starve to death. It’s more about chronic hunger and malnutrition, plus poor housing, leading to far too much infectous disease.

  2. EqFe says:

    I don’t think that is an important distinction, the bottom line is that an acceptiance of the inevitable of increasing human population, IMHO, and lets face it I’m not a scientist, so it’s a fact free opinion in a way, leads to more hunger, poverty death etc. Anything other than population control is a bandaid at best.

    • argylesock says:

      I agree that population control is essential. But so is waste control.

      • EqFe says:

        True in so many ways of course and the closer to the source of hunder the waste is, the more effecctive wast control is in controlling hunger. But when I’ve traved to the less developed world, I’ve always found that the waste caused here in America by impossibly high consumer standards was non existant. The fruit I would buy locally, always had more blemishes or insect bites than I would see here. Which then leads to getting the excess food to where it can do some good, and who pays for trnasport etc.
        There is no doubt that in my lifetime, quality standards have gone up here in the US, and that more food is wasted in the field and trashed in the food chain. For some reason, this well publicised proplem has not resulted in food shelters receiving more of this food.

Leave a Reply

