‘Seven Ages’ study about eating red meat

The English Beef and Lamb Executive (EBLEX) promotes red meat.

So far, EBLEX hasn’t published strong words about the scandal of horse meat in beef products. I hope it does so, because this scandal could damage the whole meat industry. No doubt there will be calls for everybody to go vegan. I’ve no problem with people eating a vegan or vegetarian diet, or any other diet, but I choose meat as part of a balanced diet.

Over two weeks ago, Sarah Trickett at Farmers Weekly said that EBLEX was going to start testing beef products for horse DNA. Good plan, say I. But the horse-meat problem has grown into a scandal now. It’s time for more than a plan to start running checks. When I see more action on this, from EBLEX or its sister bodies (levy boards) in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, I’ll let you know.

Meanwhile EBLEX reports the findings of the ‘Seven Ages’ study about red meat and human nutrition. There’s evidence that many people in the rich world lack minerals which are found in red meat. People from babies to old folk and everybody in between. That science, reported in Meat and Health, suggests that people can benefit from eating red meat as part of a balanced diet.

EBLEX funded the ‘Seven Ages’ study, and it’s one of several British pro-meat levy boards funding Meat and Health. So ‘Seven Ages’ hasn’t yet been presented as impartial science. But it’s to go through the peer review process. Then it will be published by the British Nutrition Foundation.

I trust the ‘Seven Ages’ study with caution. Partly because EBLEX and the other levy boards funded my PhD and other good science 😉 – I wouldn’t have worked with them if they’d asked me to fake anything. More to the point, the ‘Seven Ages’ study is a meta-analysis of peer reviewed science.

Now, where’s my meat supper?

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in food, human health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ‘Seven Ages’ study about eating red meat

  1. ajaytao2010 says:

    Nice reading about you.

    Thanks. for visiting my blog Ajaytao2010@wordpress.com. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may definitely find something of your interest.

    • argylesock says:

      I’m glad you like my blog. I already did look at yours, in fact. Didn’t follow it right away, but now I have – let’s see how that goes. My hesitation was because you sound as though your blog will be mostly photographs, whereas I like plenty of words alongside the pictures.

      I’m sorry to learn that you have cancer. That stinks. My own disability is a different one (multiple sclerosis) but I make no secret of it here on WordPress. To discuss it, and other kinds of disability, I use LiveJournal where I run two communities http://friendly-crips.livejournal.com/ and http://disabledstudent.livejournal.com/

      • ajaytao2010 says:

        thanks you very much.
        It not only photographs, but quotes and books as well
        Browse through the categories and you will find it interesting

  2. Pingback: Eating meat, just not too much of it | Science on the Land

Leave a Reply

