International Day of Action for Rivers

Today, March 14th, is the International Day of Action for Rivers. It’s organised by International Rivers who say that they’re ‘at the heart of the global struggle to protect rivers and the rights of communities that depend on them.’

It’s not yet clear to me how International Rivers cooperates with the United Nations (UN). This year, 2013, is the UN’s International Year of Water Cooperation. The UN’s World Water Day is to be in a week’s time, on March 22nd. If you find the link between International Rivers and the UN, please let me know.

I’m grateful to my fellow bloggers at Sunset Daily for drawing attention to the International Day of Action for Rivers.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in ecology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to International Day of Action for Rivers

Leave a Reply

