Golden Rice – A Golden Opportunity or “Golden Lies”?

argylesock says… Great article! Thanks for following my blog. I’ve written about Golden Rice too, and like you I’m open to persuasion. I notice that Helen Keller International promotes several responses to Vitamin A deficiency, with Golden Rice being only one possibility. Orange Fleshed Sweet Potato (OFSP) is another promising line of research and development. OFSP is selectively bred, involving no genetic modification.

Food (Policy) For Thought

Have you heard of golden rice? It’s possibly the genetically modified product with the most controversy around it – a hard title to snag – because of its goal: to eradicate malnutrition in some of the world’s poorest societies.

View original post 787 more words

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in food, human health, knowledge transfer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Golden Rice – A Golden Opportunity or “Golden Lies”?

  1. EqFe says:

    It has only just occurred to me, to wonder what the yield of this rice is compared to traditional rice strains. It would defeat the whole purpose if it was lower, since the vitamin A deficiencies are said to be the result of small landholders not having enough land to grow both grains and vegetables.

    • argylesock says:

      This is a good point. My guess is that Golden Rice would produce relatively low yields. If the best way to grow a lot of rice had been to grow yellow-seeded rice, people would already have been doing that.

      Do please let me know if you find any data on GR yields.

Leave a Reply

