Rice in sub-Saharan Africa

Here’s a film about the rice sector in sub-Saharan Africa. The scientist who speaks there is Marco Wopereis, the Deputy Director General of AfricaRice. Dr Wopereis blogs at Reflections on Rice R&D in Africa, where he doesn’t yet have many followers but he’s just got another one.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Rice in sub-Saharan Africa

  1. EqFe says:

    very interesting, thanks for sharing.

    • argylesock says:

      You’re welcome. This followed some discussion that you and I had on this blog yesterday, where you suggested that rice-growing in Africa might be a small industry. Indeed it’s so, I learned today, but according to Dr Wopereis it’s increasing. Apparently some African rice farmers use an irrigated paddy system but others grow rain-fed rice.

      • EqFe says:

        I just hope that they don’t make the same mistake Australia did of using ancient aquafers to grow rice for export, leaving them with the current water shortage.

  2. argylesock says:

    Oh my, I hadn’t heard that story about Australian history.

  3. Pingback: Threshing rice in sub-Saharan Africa | Science on the Land

Leave a Reply

