Forty reasons why we need animals in research

Understanding Animal Research (UAR) is a not-for-profit company which ‘aims to achieve broad understanding and acceptance of the humane use of animals in biomedical research in the UK, to advance science and medicine.’ Want to support UAR? You could join its Science Action Network.

I found UAR a few hours ago, following ideas from my fellow bloggers at Animal Connection. I’ll blog here about UAR from time to time. To start: these people tell us ‘Forty reasons why we need animals in research’.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in human health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Forty reasons why we need animals in research

  1. I spent a good portion of my career doing medical research using animals. My response to people who don’t think this is appropriate is: “Show your protest by never taking any medication or using current medical technology”. Neither of these would exist as we know them without animal research.

    • argylesock says:

      Well said. Some people really do refuse medical treatments they disapprove of, but I think those people are extremists.

      I’ve been wanting to find an organisation such as UAR for several years and now I’m glad to have found it.

Leave a Reply

