Learning about animal research

If you care about lab animals, I recommend these pages by Understanding Animal Research (UAR).

I’ve often met people who continue to believe that scientists do cruel experiments, for no good reason. That it’s all about pouring shampoo into bunnies’ eyes and stuff like that. Reality check: in the European Union it isn’t like that. You might choose to follow my ‘lab animal’ tag for more about this. You might also choose to follow these links from UAR.

History of animal research

The ethics of animal research

Animal rights activism and extremism

Costs and benefits of research

Regulatory systems and the 3Rs

Websites

If you’ve been reading me for a while you’ll recall my series about field sports (aka blood sports – see my ‘game’ tag and my ‘shooting’ tag). I’ve gone quiet on that topic because shooting seasons are underway here and there hasn’t been a new one to write about.

So now’s a good time to write about lab animals. I’m grateful to my fellow blogger Jeannee at A Global Garnish Geek for reminding me to write about this. When I read UAR’s words, they’re preaching to the converted. It’s many years since I learned to value animal work.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in human health, knowledge transfer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

