Genetically modified animal feed

Do we want to know whether or not the meat, milk and eggs we eat come from animals fed on genetically modified (GM, aka genetically engineered) feed? Here in Britain, that’s an issue with some of our major grocery outlets announcing that they won’t tell their customers either way.

GM Watch tells us about this. ‘Following announcements from M&S, Sainsbury’s, Co-Op, and Tesco that they will no longer require that the farm animals in their supply chains are fed a non-GM diet, Peter Melchett, Policy Director of the Soil Association, said:

‘ “Tesco and the Co-Op are misleading their customers by claiming that the GM feed will not be detectable in products like eggs, milk or chicken. This is not true. Several research studies have found that GM DNA in animal feed is taken up by the animal’s organs and can then be detected in the milk, meat, and fish that people eat. This has been confirmed today by the Government’s Food Standards Agency.” ‘

I’m not convinced that GM foods harm people just because they’re GM. When there’s robust evidence of human harm, I’ll tell you and I’ll be grateful if you tell me. But for now, the science hasn’t yet given us any health reason to avoid GM foods.

Nevertheless, lots of people want to avoid eating GM. Lots of people want to avoid animal products from livestock fed on GM. Which is why there’s controversy here in Britain, now, about supermarkets and other retailers refusing to inform customers about what the animals have been fed. I’m all in favour of informative labels on groceries. On this point, I agree with Mr Melchett.

It’s a much bigger picture, though. The GM story isn’t all about human health. There’s evidence that GM crops disrupt ecosytems, eg Roundup Ready soya and the monarch butterfly, also Bt corn (maize) and soil insecticides. I’m not convinced that GM crops are a solution to hunger or malnutrition, eg Golden Rice and childhood blindness. I’m concerned about intellectual property – farmers not owning their seeds – eg the Monsanto Protection Act and ongoing legal cases. You might choose to follow my ‘genetic modification’ tag for more about each of these concerns.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture, ecology, human health, knowledge transfer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Genetically modified animal feed

    • argylesock says:

      Thanks for reblogging. After I posted info from the pro-GM ISAAA yesterday, and you reblogged that, I was a little bit concerned that my blog could be perceived as pro-GM. I aim to present a range of viewpoints.

  1. Well, I’m always glad of news like this about GM stuff so I can make choices, and had not thought through the food chain in terms of animals eating GM – thank you

  2. Oma says:

    Fine way of telling, and good article to get data concerning my
    presentation topic, which i am going to convey in college.

  3. Pingback: GM in European food | Science on the Land

Leave a Reply

