Tomorrow’s children? The most important seeds we need to sow: a parent’s perspective

argylesock says… It’s nearly two weeks since Kaye Brennan at Woodland Matters wrote this article. Two weeks in which I’ve been watching spring arrive at last, here in Northern England, and sowing seeds for the growing season ahead. I’ll add my voice to the other commenters on Kaye’s post: kids need the outdoors. For me as a child in the 1970s it was all about gardens, pets, walks and camping – that’s how I learned to be me.

Woodland Matters

As we launch our action in response to changes to the school curriculum – which we fear could threaten opportunities for school trips and outdoor learning in England – we welcome a special guest blog from our Head of People Engagement, Graham Blight, who has spent 10 years at the Trust working with schools and communities around the importance of nature in education for children and young people. Over to you, Graham…

“Year 1 of our local primary school spend part of their lessons outside today. Each Tuesday, whatever the weather, the class of 5 and 6 years olds enjoy learning in the energising environment of a local wood. What better way to build an understanding of the environment than through first-hand exploration at an early age? 

They learn not just to care for the world in which they live but put into practice their literacy and numeracy skills through…

View original post 303 more words

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in knowledge transfer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

