New rice in Tanzania to boost production

In Eastern and Southern Africa, people want rice to be more productive. People want the grain to store well, too, and people want it to taste good. Here’s some science about rice breeding to improve African productivity.

The International Rice Research Institute (IRRI) tells us about two new rice varieties called Komboka and Tai which have been proposed for release in Tanzania.

So far as I know, Komboka rice and Tai rice were developed by selective breeding. Not by genetic modification (GM). If you know that I’m mistaken about that, please tell me. You might choose to follow my ‘breeding’ and ‘genetic modification’ tags for more about these very different methods.

Komboka rice and Tai rice are new. During field trials, farmers and consumers liked them. Scientists are producing more seeds so that farmers can decide whether to grow these varieties next year.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture, knowledge transfer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

