Tree maintenance and survival

argylesock says… Years ago I helped to run a tree-planting scheme with what was then the British Trust for Conservation Volunteers. We had fun at schools, helping kids to plant trees, but I don’t think any tree aftercare was done.

Woodland Matters

Plant a tree in ’73, bundle of sticks in ’76” is a refrain that is etched upon my mind. A recent query from one of our supporters about survival rates amongst the 6m trees we have planted under our Jubilee Woods project only served to reinforce the point.

I take any tree loss from schemes that we are involved in very personally – I’ve always made a point of revisiting sites that we have planted over the 19 years that I have been with the Trust and thankfully they are all in the main flourishing, and in many cases I am actually surprised by how well they have developed.

What are some of the key issues to think about in order to establish a new woodland successfully? 

  • Are trees actually right for the site or is the site more valuable as the habitat that currently exists there?
  • Understand…

View original post 346 more words

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in horticulture, knowledge transfer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

