Do you know more about science and technology than the average American?

You can test your knowledge of science and technology with this Pew Research Center quiz.

In case you’re wondering, I scored 13/13. But you’d expect that from a biologist called Sam Mason BA Oxon, MSc, MSc, PhD wouldn’t you? It’s more important that some people lack knowledge. Everybody’s different of course – I can’t sing – but there’s knowledge that everybody should have.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in knowledge transfer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Do you know more about science and technology than the average American?

  1. This was fun for an ignoramus about science – my score was 12 – I’m now having a drink to celebrate !!!

  2. Tony says:

    Blimey, I thought with this kid (me) having a complete lack of scientific knowhow, I would fail miserably. I am however, most pleased with a score of 11 out of 13. Is this Sam Mason on LinkedIn by the way? I would like to connect as a fellow blogger, should that be the case.

    • argylesock says:

      11/13, well done you!

      I haven’t got around to registering with LinkedIn. I’m on ResearchGate and Twitter https://argylesock.wordpress.com/2012/08/18/science-networks/ but haven’t yet started using them. Tasks to deal with over the summer, off-season for my University teaching

      Meanwhile, who’s this person calling perself Sam Mason on LinkedIn? Eh? I’m Sam Mason, the real Sam Mason. All the other Sam Masons are just imitating.

      • Tony says:

        Thanks. I was not sure if there was another Sam Mason, but I just thought I’d check with your good self. I, too am on ResearchGate but I’m barely qualified as pucker researcher, well at least, not yet! Time to catch up on all the latest news from you and your newshound.

  3. Carol Hague says:

    Me and my Chemistry O Level, grade B, got 12/13 🙂

    And the one I got wrong I would have known if I’d thought about it properly. I blame lack of coffee 🙂

    Initially I found it a bit scary that 85% f the Americans who too the quiz did worse than me but then I saw the sample size – 1006 people isn’t very many at all. I know little of statistics, but I do know that you need a much bigger sample size than that to make broad generalisations about an entire population. Unless it’s a population of 1006, of course 🙂

  4. Rachel says:

    I too got 12/13. I’m happy with that! If only I had thought properly about the one I got wrong… haha.

  5. applpy says:

    12/13, hope for me yet 🙂

Leave a Reply

