Tweeting for conservation and biodiversity

argylesock says… I’m reblogging this because I like Bob Booth’s story of getting turned onto Twitter. A few people have told me that I should tweet something from my WordPress posts – the title, I suppose, because tweets are forced to be stupidly short. I’m stubborn, not one to follow trends for no good reason. But this summer (I’m in the Northern Hemisphere), when I’ll be less busy because the students will be out of town, I plan to give Twitter a try. Over there I’m Dr Sam Mason, or maybe DrSamMason or is it #DrSamMason? Do you detect my lack of enthusiasm? Well, never say never. If you want to follow me on Twitter, then after the students’ exams are over, I’ll try to give you something worth following.

Among The Stately Trees

A year ago I would have told you that Twitter was for folks with time to waste. My perception of the social media platform was that it was useful if you felt the need to share what you had for breakfast with the world. Or perhaps to share pictures of your pets while wittily anthropomorphizing in 140-characters or less. And the fact that the most-followed tweeter in the world was Justin Bieber didn’t exactly sell me on using it for science communication and outreach. And besides, one-hundred forty characters sure seemed arbitrary. And all the hashtags….#ugh.

Perspectives change though. With a nudge from my brother and a couple of colleagues, I gave it a try and was pleasantly surprised.  Not only have I…

View original post 1,633 more words

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in knowledge transfer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tweeting for conservation and biodiversity

  1. pcawdron says:

    Twitter is frustratingly brief, but it’s a touch point for ideas normally developed further in blog posts. I love being able to catch up with the thinking and reasoning of various scientists on Twitter.

    • argylesock says:

      Yes, I’ve heard good things about it. Yesterday I went there and followed a few more tweeters (is that the right word?) but haven’t yet found my way around the site. In particular, how do I find and follow somebody’s tweet-log (is that the right word?) is all I know is its name? I went looking for #OpenAgData but haven’t yet managed to start following it.

Leave a Reply

