Threats to British wildlife

The State of Nature report tells us that many kinds of mammal, bird, insect and plant in Britain are in serious decline. In these times of changing climate, with tough economic choices being made, species face extinction. Ella Davies at the BBC tells us which organisms are subjects of concern. I’m grateful to my fellow blogger narhvalur for drawing attention to this.

But for many species it’s not too late. The State of Nature report’s authors say, ‘With sufficient determination, resources and public support, we can, and will, turn the fortunes of our wildlife around.’ [Edit] In fact, the same day the State of Nature report came out, so did another report showing more encouraging news. You can find that by following a pingback at the end of this blog post.

[Edit] My fellow blogger at Into the Eremozoic tells us more about the State of Nature. Another blogger, timr6 at Green Living London, tells us that 60% of UK species are in decline.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in ecology and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Threats to British wildlife

  1. Tony says:

    What is especially sad about this report, is that behind the scenes, much scientific evidence has been gathered, yet, we are no further forward into securing the specie’s futures. I could give you my personal opinion as to why I think, the losses of the ten mentioned had occurred. Whilst doing so, it would be possible to gather further information on thousands of studies into them. Ecological science, rules and regulation need revamping for the modern era, otherwise it will be a choice of either human survival or the wildlife’s. If we care, we need to take stock of scientific evidence and act on it, before it’s too late.

    I have a personal interest (self-taught) in climate change but can you or I and the rest of Joe public agree on whether the current situation is man-made or not? Does it even matter whether we agree or agree to disagree? Hell yes and no, the evidence is there for all to see by observing nature’s ways and by looking back at history. I’m borderline ranting now, so will get off my soapbox but I talk about the subject because I care.

    • argylesock says:

      Go ahead and rant if you wish. I agree that the ways people discuss and use scientific evidence need to improve. In fact, I hope to contribute to that by writing this blog. But I don’t think that ecological science is to blame. All the ecologists I know are doing good science.

  2. Thanks for linking to my post on The State of Nature report – hopefully the report will get a wide audience and act as a wake-up call…

  3. Pingback: Nature conservation succeeds in parts of Europe | Science on the Land

Leave a Reply

