Monsanto gives up fight for GM plants in Europe

Monsanto‘s spokeswoman in Germany, Ursula Lüttmer-Ouazane, says that her company won’t keep trying to get licences for GM crops in Europe. Why? Because people don’t want GM (genetically modified, also called genetically engineered, GE) crops here. Ms Lüttmer-Ouazane says that ‘it’s counter-productive to tilt against windmills’.

In case you don’t know, ’tilting against windmills’ means wasting effort on fights you’ll never win. I feel a surge of nationalist pride! We are that windmill.

It’s a long time since we in Britain stopped fighting our German neighbours. We get on just fine now. So today, I invite my fellow Europeans to join me singing to the tune of the Dad’s Army theme ‘Who do you think you are kidding, Big Monsanto?’

I’m grateful to the not-for-profit campaign against GM crops, GM Watch, for drawing attention to this story. You can read more by my fellow blogger Janina at Food (Policy) for Thought here.

[Edit] But the story didn’t end there.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture, money and trade and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Monsanto gives up fight for GM plants in Europe

  1. EqFe says:

    I told you that civilized countries would have no part in it.

  2. petrel41 says:

    Reblogged this on Dear Kitty. Some blog and commented:
    Good news! I hope there is not some “snake in the grass”, meaning allegoric Monsanto “snake” (I like real grass snakes).

  3. Reblogged this on bearspawprint and commented:
    Do hope it will not be like in Oregon, USA where the GM just “appeared” in a field.

  4. Finn Holding says:

    That is a really important result. And it’s a huge reason why the UK should remain part of the European economic power block. It’s a battle that we couldn’t fight on our own.

  5. nannus says:

    We have to stay alert. I don’t trust them. Did you know, “Gift” is the German word for poison. So a gift from Monsanto…
    Timeo danaos et dona ferrentes 🙂

  6. Carol Hague says:

    The more stories I hear about Monsanto, the less I trust them – I wouldn’t put it past the blighters to sneak in through the back door somehow, if they think they can get away with it.

    Still, this is good news.

  7. Pingback: Monsanto gives up on Europe? Would be great – but rejoicing is premature | Science on the Land

Leave a Reply

