Think, Eat, Save on World Environment Day

The United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) calls today World Environment Day. This year, the theme is Think Eat Save. I like UNEP’s summary of food waste facts.

I also like what Professor Sir Gordon Conway’s blog ‘One billion hungry: can we feed the world?’ says about European Green Week.

You might choose to follow my ‘food’ and ‘waste’ tags for more about this. I agree with Edward Carr at Open the Echo Chamber when he says, ‘There is no global crisis of food production.’ Too much is wasted and too little thought is given to different sources of food.

[Edit] My fellow blogger Theresa Green at Everyday Nature Trails tells us history and opinion about World Environment Day.

[Edit] The Centre for Agricultural Biodiversity International (CABI) tells us about suggestions to reduce food waste.

[Edit] The World Food Programme (WFP) urges the intenational community to focus on reducing food loss on farms.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Think, Eat, Save on World Environment Day

Leave a Reply

