No Go on GMO (and this is why)

argylesock says… Here’s more information about the now-infamous case of unlicenced Roundup Ready wheat in an Oregon field. It’s worth following the link about it, near the start of EcoGrrl’s post. I’ll say, though, that what I see there is a story about wheat in that field. Not wheat in a shipment to Japan or anywhere else. [Edit: Ecogrrl says that was a typo, now corrected. The GM wheat wasn’t found in any shipment.] The other links are interesting too, esp the ones about alleged links between GM foods and animal or human health. I’ll try to get around to munching those links and let you know what I think of them. You can see more under my ‘genetic modification’ tag.

The EcoFeminist

As many of you heard on the news this past week, GMO wheat was found in Oregon and orders were cancelled by Japan, turning up the heat on what Monsanto is doing to contaminate our food supply and endanger our health in the name of profit.  Ironically, this comes not long after global protests were held against Monsanto.  As a friend and I commented, hopefully this will help take down the machine that is Monsanto and strengthen our own regulations.

I’m not going to write a long post about this, rather just share a few tidbits I’ve picked up describing in more detail what the actual problems are with GMOs, as I know it is kind of foggy for a lot of folks.  In addition, my fella emailed me the infographic which I’ve shared as it provides a great visual of the difference among heirloom, hybrid, and GMO seeds…

View original post 152 more words

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture, money and trade and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Go on GMO (and this is why)

Leave a Reply

