Pesticides and pollinators

The European Food Standards Agency (EFSA) has published new guidance about bee health.

I’m glad that this is happening. That EFSA considers several different ways that bees can be exposed to pesticides.

Also, I’m glad that EFSA takes wild bees and other pollinating insects seriously. As Damian Carrington at the Guardian tells us, it’s not just honeybees that pollinate plants. He tells of evidence that, across the world now, wild bees and other insects are twice as effective as honeybees in producing seeds and fruit on crops.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture, ecology, horticulture, knowledge transfer, miniculture and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pesticides and pollinators

  1. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you design this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?

    Plz respond as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. appreciate it

    • argylesock says:

      I’m glad you like my blog. Its layout is one of the standard ones, available free on WordPress. I use several of the ‘widgets’ that WP provides on the ‘dashboard’ to make my blog look how I want it. The photo I use as wallpaper (6 month old lambs, with a sheepdog) is mine. When I show other people’s art I acknowledge the artist.

      What are you going to blog about?

  2. Jenny says:

    Bravo, Europe! Still waiting for this sort of sensibility in the states.

Leave a Reply

