Owen Paterson loves GM

Our Secretary of State for Environment Food and Rural Affairs is Owen Paterson. He thinks that we in Europe are ‘missing out’ by not welcoming GM crops. That’s genetically modified crops, also called genetically engineered (GE) crops or biotech crops. Here’s what Mr Paterson says about GM.

You might follow my ‘genetic modification’ tag for my comments on that speech and for some other people’s responses to it. I’m not entirely convinced that Mr Paterson knows what he’s talking about.

In particular I asked, ‘Are GM Crops Out of Date?’ In that post, I quoted the generally pro-GM ISAAA (International Service for the Acquisition of Agri-biotech Applications) telling us about Marker Assisted Breeding (MAB) – a different kind of biotech which doesn’t involve splicing genes. This is the same ISAAA who has just presented us with a database about approval for GM crops.

As I learn about ISAAA’s words and deeds, I think that they might well know what they’re talking about. What do you think?

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture, knowledge transfer, money and trade and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Owen Paterson loves GM

  1. Pingback: Weeds and insects fight back. More market for sprays, then. | Science on the Land

  2. Pingback: Golden Rice trial is vandalised | Science on the Land

  3. Pingback: UK Enters GMO Free 2014 | Science on the Land

  4. Pingback: Paterson’s curse: rival for a GM crop? | Science on the Land

Leave a Reply

