A decade of extremes

The World Meteorological Organization (WMO) tells us that the first decade of the 21st century was the warmest for both hemispheres and for both land and ocean temperatures since measurements began in 1850.

As you know, I think the evidence of climate change is far too strong to ignore. The ‘measurements [which] began in 1850’ aren’t the only evidence. There’s science based on looking at long, deep samples drilled out of rocks and glaciers, also looking at rings in the wood of ancient trees.

I also think that we humans are causing climate change. You can read more in the ‘weather and climate’ section of my blog, where you’ll find links to good words by several of my fellow bloggers. For example, anthropocene tells us that there is no such thing as climate change denial and that it’s caused by what people are doing.

Here on my own blog, my focus is usually on farming, gardening and nature. All of which are affected by climate, of course.

Just now we in Britain are having a heatwave. My partner, a retired farmer, says that it’s not perfect weather for haymaking because it’ll probably rain before the hay’s been dried in the sun. But if she still had land, she’d be out with the baler like the other farmers are. Making hay while the sun shines.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture, ecology, money and trade, weather and climate and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

