Hello Mr Willetts

Here in Britain our Minister for Universities and Science is the Right Honourable (Rt Hon) David Willetts. He’s been in that job since 2010.

Here are some of Mr Willetts’ policies which catch my eye.
Investing in research, development and innovation
Engaging the public in science and engineering

From March this year, you might choose to read Mr Willetts’ article ‘The Importance of Science and Engineering Education to Our Society Is Ever-Growing.’ You can see more about what he’s been doing here.

In Parliament last month, Mr Willetts responded to a question about funding for science and research. His speech was quite long, as political speeches are. Here’s a snippet.

‘We are aiming to make Britain the best place in the world to do science. That is partly a matter of financing and partly about the wider context and culture. For example, our lead in the global debate on open access and open data ensures that we are seen as serious players in the science debate. Indeed, I look forward to putting on the agenda for discussions with G8 Science Ministers in London, just over a week from now, what we can do to agree on further progress towards open access to research findings internationally and—even trickier, probably—how we can ensure greater access to the data behind the research findings. In that respect, there are a host of rather tricky technical questions about standards for the storing, and hence the mining, of data. We can be proud of what we are trying to do to support Britain’s excellent reputation on science.’

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in knowledge transfer, money and trade and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello Mr Willetts

  1. beeseeker says:

    Thanks for posting. You are right, of course, this needs watching to see how it develops.
    However, sorry as I am to say this (and I am),the finest of words coming from the mouths of politicians fail to insure either trust, pride or confidence in me these days.
    … And,as often is the case these days; isn’t what happens next down to multi national companies ..
    Stepping off soap box now.

    • argylesock says:

      You’re welcome to get on a soap box here. You may be right in your cynicism about politics. It seems to be the majority view, now. Whenever I blog (my soap box!) about politics I’m reminded of how glad I am that I never became a politician. Unlike somebody I knew well at University, who is now a Govt Minister. I’m glad he’s supporting school gardening 🙂 http://www.stevewebb.org.uk/webb/node/101 but I don’t envy his job.

Leave a Reply

