A New Common Agricultural Policy for Europe

argylesock says… Here are good thoughts about agriculture in Europe. As so often. I think politicians’ short-term need to win votes can be in conflict with the land’s and seas’ needs to be sustainable. Thank you for the link to the Europa press release. I thought I was on the mailing list for that, but perhaps not – will join that mailing list now.

thinkingcountry

I have written before on the prospect of a new CAP for a new era of farming in Europe. The proposed changes were actually published about 6 weeks ago but it has taken a bit of time to sift through everything and really look at who wins and who loses out of this new approach. Speaking as someone who supports a system whereby production and the environment go hand in hand and can work together, not separately, I have been a little disappointed in the shortsightedness and inability to think a bit outside of the box that this document suggests. However, on the whole I feel that we are taking a step in the right direction.

Image

After years of planning I feel that the policy makers haven’t gone far enough in many areas – especially when it comes to rural development, community development and their greening measures. Perhaps unsurprisingly there…

View original post 444 more words

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

