Climate change: how hot will it get in my lifetime?

Duncan Clark at the Guardian says, ‘The UN [United Nations] is to publish the most exhaustive examination of climate change science to date, predicting dangerous temperature rises.’ Here’s the press release from the UN’s Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), whose report this is.

Eric Halthaus at Quartz says there’s more consensus about this than ever before. ‘The world’s best scientists agree: On our current path, global warming is irreversible and getting worse‘.

Mr Clark invites us to make it personal with this app.

[Edit] Two weeks later, my fellow blogger Gordon Conway at One Billion Hungry: Can We Feed the World? shows us the IPCC report and what he thinks about it.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in weather and climate and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Climate change: how hot will it get in my lifetime?

  1. Tony says:

    Hi Sam,

    Glad that you are bringing some attention to this seriously important report from the IPCC. I am yet to read the full report, which consists of 2,200 plus pages, so that will be left for when I have a few days spare, ha ha. I will also have a look at the links you have shared above but the pertinent question in my view is not “how hot will it get in my lifetime?” but “what amount of climate change stress can our ecosystems take?” The effects on our wildlife are potentially, already at breaking point and the human race will suffer as a result, unless global intervention at every conceivable level is to take place. A worrying future, well perhaps, but man and womankind alike can achieve amazing things when given a reason to.

Leave a Reply

