Owen Paterson is called ‘irresponsible’ about global warming

Our Environment Secretary, Owen Paterson, is misplacing his welly again. Tom Bawden at the Independent tells us that Mr Paterson has said, ‘Climate change? People get very emotional about the subject. It’s not all bad.’ What planet are you on, Mr Paterson?

Mr Bawden tells us, ‘Professor Myles Allen of Oxford University, one of the lead authors of the report from the UN’s Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, said: “[Mr Paterson’s statement] is not consistent with the report at all… I find it very worrying that this person is charged with adapting [Britain] to climate change. I think it is a good idea for whoever is planning for adaptation to have a realistic understanding of what the science is saying…”

‘Asked to respond to widespread accusations that he is a climate sceptic, Mr Paterson [said]… “This is an area of science which like any other should be approached rationally and with an open mind.”’

Your mind doesn’t seem very open, does it Mr Paterson? If you want rational thought, listen to Prof Allen and to our Government’s Chief Scientific Advisor, Sir Mark Walport, among many others.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in knowledge transfer, weather and climate and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Owen Paterson is called ‘irresponsible’ about global warming

  1. Yet another example as to how Mr Paterson is out of touch with both science and people (if not industry).

  2. Rachel says:

    Why doesn’t government DO something?? Like, kick him out of his spot and give it to someone who HAS got an open mind and DOES understand what is happening?? Silly man.

    • argylesock says:

      I agree. He’s part of a Government which is determined to reduce debt, but I think he’s not well-enough informed to make sweeping generalisations such as his comments about GM.

      Did you notice that Littlesundog has just called me Rachel on another of my threads about GM? She seems to be mixing you and me – a compliment! If you don’t know her yet, I think perhaps you should.

Leave a Reply

