Rookes, Crowes and Choughes

argylesock says… Under the Tudor kings and queen, people were paid to kill wildlife classed as vermin. Those 16th century laws were repealed 200 years later but for some of the species which had been persecuted under those laws, populations still haven’t reached their former levels. Some of those are species we now value and conserve.

The Naturephile

‘If men had wings and black feathers, few of them would ever be clever enough to be crows’

Henry Ward Beecher
Clergyman, wit and abolitionist

I’m incarcerated at home at the moment, having been laid low with a seasonal Yuletide dose of coughing and spluttering so I haven’t been out observing, photographing and recording. Consequently, this is an ‘armchair post’ using old photographs, and constructed in the warmth of my dining room.

It has been inspired by the superb book ‘Corvus‘ by Esther Woolfson which describes living with many different birds including a rook and a magpie. If you haven’t yet read ‘Corvus‘, insist on a copy as a stocking filler this Christmas. It’s a beautiful book and is beautifully observed and written, one of the best nature books I’ve ever read. It’s very informative, funny and thought provoking and has led me to ponder the enduring…

View original post 1,118 more words

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture, ecology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rookes, Crowes and Choughes

  1. Tony says:

    I will have to catch up on this one Sam as these posts were before I had even started following our wonderful Mr Naturephile. I know of many studies at the GWCT and elsewhere which have focussed on the Corvidae family, so have printed it out and will read with interest.

    • argylesock says:

      Yes it’s interestng isn’t it? It came up on a Goofle search about red kites after somebody in my family told me of losing rare-breed poultry chicks. I like it when WP posts come up that way. And yes, Finn Holding of The Naturephile is a good bloke.

Leave a Reply

