If China lets its people have more children, it could have trouble feeding them

argylesock says… Is China’s population control strategy out of date? Its one-party politics too. Am I the only person who won’t be surprised if there’s a violent Chinese Revolution soon?

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in food, human health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to If China lets its people have more children, it could have trouble feeding them

  1. eqfe says:

    Personally, I believe that the policy that China followed to limit population explosion, and the inevitable starvation that would have entailed was the right policy. Birth control has to be a part of any strategy to reduce overpopulation and the resulting bought of starvation throughout this little planet of ours.

  2. eqfe says:

    That was supposed to be bout of starvation. Human populations always expand past the point of local sustainability.

    • argylesock says:

      You and I have discussed this before. Birth control is indeed necessary, but the evidence I’ve seen is that the best way to make that happen is to educate girls and provide access to healthcare. Starvation isn’t a big human killer these days: it’s more about malnutrition, disease and war.

      We probably won’t agree on this, I think.

  3. EqFe says:

    Of course education, healthcare etc. works, but not very quickly. Today’s malnutrition becomes tomorrows starvation, all it takes is a slightly worse local harvest. Every day, literally every day on my TV screen there is an appeal to raise money for some group of poor people who don’t have enough to eat. To heighten the emotional appeal it’s usually about single mothers with multiple young children. China’s methods were the nicest way to approach it, but I would rather have one well fed child than three hungry ones. Eventually nature will cure the overpopulation.

    • argylesock says:

      We see adverts like that too, every day here in Britain. They annoy me because they’re so misleading.

      Typically, we’re shown a sweet black baby (nearly always named as a girl) who is fed porridge from a spoon. The voiceover invites us to ‘Help children like [name] for just £3 each month.’ There’s no mention of the dramatic fall in infant mortality that has been achieved in sub-Saharan Africa in recent years; no mention of how that’s led to youth-biased populations; no remark on how come so many little [name]s are born.

      These adverts are designed to make money. I don’t find them a good source of information. On this blog, under my ‘population’ tag, I present what I’ve found of better information.

Leave a Reply

