EU pesticide ban takes effect in bid to save bees

I told you yesterday that the ban on neonics (neonicotinoids) wasn’t showing up in the mainsteam news. That’s wrong, I find, because bees are dying. Neonics may be part of the reason. This is no joke because we need bees to pollinate the crops we eat.

Here’s a news report about the neonic ban. It’s from China News, which I didn’t expect, but they’ve given better coverage on this story than anything I’ve seen from Europe this week.

About argylesock

I wrote a PhD about veterinary parasitology so that's the starting point for this blog. But I'm now branching out into other areas of biology and into popular science writing. I'll write here about science that happens in landscapes, particularly farmland, and about science involving interspecific interactions. Datasets and statistics get my attention. Exactly where this blog will lead? That's a journey that I'm on and I hope you'll come with me.
This entry was posted in agriculture, ecology, horticulture and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to EU pesticide ban takes effect in bid to save bees

  1. Pingback: Ethiopia’s landless young find hope and security in keeping bees | Allana Potash Blog

Leave a Reply

